• Nynorsk
  • English

Universitetet i bergen logoUniversity of Bergen

Search form

Search form

Boathouses in Breiviksunde

Breiviksundet

24.06.2018

The village on Hernar in early 1900s.

Hernar

16.06.2018

Hernar is a small group of islands northwest of Seløy, an old outlying harbour on the western route. This is where ships were lying in wait for favourable weather before heading out west, and this is where the ships from the western Isles came in. Hjeltefjorden is proof of this. The fjord is named after the people from Hjaltland (Shetland).

Hjelmevågen, Øygarden

Hjelmo

16.06.2018

On the farm Hjelmo, furthest north in Øygarden, in the innermost part of a long bay, there is a fine boatshed collection with a church beside it. From times immemorial this has probably been the fish-shed location for these farm units and this was also the landing place for the churchgoers.

The mill in Kvernapollen

Kvernapollen

16.06.2018

When the workers came to Kollsnes to start on the work with the landing for the gas terminal from the Troll field in the North Sea, they found the ruins of an old farm mill at Kvernapollen.

Bronze keys and remains of a wooden stick from Døso.

Døso

16.06.2018

Ferstad, Os

Ferstad

16.06.2018

Ferstad is well worth a visit. The farm lies on a little hillock south of Lekven: a beautiful official residence from the 1700s.

The power station at Gåssand, Os

Gåssand

16.06.2018

The 28th November 1914 was a day to remember for the Os inhabitants. This was the day they could turn the switch on the wall and have electric light in their houses. It was like opening the door on the future when the power station at Gåssand was put into operation.

The rock paintings in Grødalshaug, Os

Grødalshaug

16.06.2018

At the bottom of Vargavågen on Halhjem lies Grødalshaug, a 30 metres high rocky outcrop between the bay and a moist valley cleft. On the south side of the rock is a steep rock cliff facing the valley, the bog and the stream. On this rock face we find rock carvings from the Bronze Age.

The trading post Kvalesund in Os, around 1900

Kvalesund

16.06.2018

Lyse chapel, Os

Lyse chapel

16.06.2018

The small white-painted chapel with the red brick tiled roof just south of the monastery ruins at Lyse was built in 1663 as a local chapel for the monastery estate, following the takeover of the property by the District Recorder (Stiftskriver) Niels Hanssøn Schmidt two years previously. The chapel, with its harmonic proportions, lies in the cultural landscape beside the grand monastery estate, witness to a time gone by. But even today, there is a tradition of high mass on the 2nd day of Ascension in Lyse Chapel.

Pages