• Nynorsk
  • English

Universitetet i bergen logoUniversity of Bergen

Search form

Search form

The trading store at Bakholmen, Austevoll

Bakholmen

12.06.2018

On Austre Bakholmen, a small islet of around 15 acres between Hundvåko and Drøni, lies the oldest trading centres in Austevoll. For a long time this was a court location and it was a natural centre in this archipelago.

Bekkjarvik, Austevoll early in the 1900s.

Bekkjarvik

12.06.2018

Krosshamn, Austevoll

Krosshamn

12.06.2018

Krosshamn lies in the shipping lane northeast of Hundvåkøy, near Sandtorv. The name probably derives from the fact that this is Austevoll’s harbour situated nearest to Korsfjorden.

Boathouses in Kvalvåg, Austevoll

Kvalvåg

12.06.2018

Kvalvåg on Stolmen is first mentioned as a trading post in 1655, and in 1731 the owner Jens Meyer, was granted a royal trading privilege.

Kjelstraumen today

Kjelstraumen

16.06.2018

If you take the sea route north you have several options. The various routes have been dealt with in history, and through the Middle Ages the traffic increased as well as the trading with Nordland in fish and herring, feather and down. One of the central routes passes through Kjelstraumen, in the sound between Ulvøy and Bakkøy. This has been a place for a guesthouse since 1610, with Royal Letter of Privilege, part of the large network of trading post and guesthouse locations along the coast.

The mill that belonged to Johan Steinegger in Kvalvågen in Lindås, an attempt to exploit the difference in tides

Kvalvågen

16.06.2018

The Hopland mills around 1940.

Kvernhusvågen

30.03.2018

Kyrping at the turn of the 19th century

Kyrping

30.03.2018

The trading post down by the fjord at Kyrping does not belong to the oldest group of trading posts from the 1600s and 1700s. It was only after the liberalisation of the trading legislation that trade was established here.

Skånevik

Skånevik- the trading post

18.06.2018

There are only two buildings left of the old trading and guesthouse settlement in Skånevik. They are in the centre, close to the main road passing through the settlement. The other buildings that belonged to the place, the lodging house (“Holteriet”), the bakery, the courthouse, the boathouse and the sea house with the store, were pulled down in the last century.