• Nynorsk
  • English

Universitetet i bergen logoUniversity of Bergen

Search form

Search form

Botnavatnet

Botnavatnet

29.03.2018

Today there are only a few farmers that grow potatoes in Fitjar.

Fitjar- potatoes

19.12.2018

The deep agricultural soils in Fitjar are found especially in the area between Lake Storavatnet and Breivika. The many stonewalls in the area reflect that the earth probably was full of stones and stone blocks. The stones that couldn't be dug out had also a function: they stored heat that helped to grow potatoes.

Smedholmen, Fitjar

Smedholmen

30.03.2018

Aga farmyard

Aga

19.06.2018

The grand farm Aga on the west side of Sørfjorden, came under protection in 1937, when the agricultural reform threatened to disperse the old clustered settlement. “Lagmannsstova”, named after the “lagmann” (law speaker) Sigurd Brynjulfsson, was already protected in 1924; one of the authentic profane wooden buildings from the Middle Ages still standing. All the same it is the farmyard itself that is the key cultural monument.

Today Jåstadstova is placed at Hardanger Folk High School at Lofthus

Jåstad

27.05.2018

The farm Jåstad, situated a few kilometres north of Agatunet, must have been a grand farm in medieval times. Torolf on Jåstad is mentioned as arbitration moderator in 1293, and in the vaulted corridor at Lyse Kloster Sigurd, farmer at Jåstad, and his wife Sigrid – the king’s kinswoman - are buried.

Nils Hertzberg’s prospectus from 1825 of “Ålmerket” and the site of the long ship shed.

Kinsarvik

29.04.2018

Kinsarvik has probably been a centre for the inner Hardanger districts back in prehistory. History tells us that in medieval times there was a marketing place, a “kaupang”, here; a connecting point in the communications between east and west. There were supposedly around 300 residents here but the place was likely wiped out in a great fire.

From Helland toward the end of the valley with the Skrikjo waterfall.

Opedal

03.12.2018

Ullensvang

Ullensvang church

27.05.2018

Ullensvang church, situated beside the vicarage, in idyllic surroundings on the headland just inside Lofthus municipality, is mentioned for the first time in written sources in 1309. At that time the present Gothic stone church must have been new. Judging by the style in the western portal and the eastern chancel windows, the church must have been built around 1300 or just before, probably by builders from Bergen influenced by the English Gothic style.