• Nynorsk
  • English

Universitetet i bergen logoUniversity of Bergen

Search form

Search form

Gildrehola

Gildrehola

12.03.2018

Skorpo (Svein Nord)

Skorpo

29.03.2018

Skorpo - Polished by glaciers and meltwater

Sunde, Kvinnherad

Sunde

19.06.2018

In 1852 Haktor Thorsen erected two large warehouses on one of his farms in Sunde and started trading and salting herring. This was the start of an industrial adventure that made Sunde into one of the first industrial communities in Kvinnherad.

Mine hole above Kvitebergsvatnet Lake, by Atramadalen.

Ølve- Mining

05.01.2019

All in all there are ten known copper mines and two iron mines on the Ølve peninsula. Geologically, the nine mines on Varaldsøy Island also should be figured in. The industry began at Lilledal in 1642 wth the mining of iron ore. From Jernsmauget by Dyråsen, the iron ore was sent to the iron works in eastern Norway.

Prospect of Alvøen, Bergen

Alvøen

12.06.2018

Alvøen is one of the oldest industrial places in Norway. As early as the 1620s a gunpowder mill was built here. The place itself was well situated for industrial activity, lying only 100 m from the waterfall, which provided power for the mill, and a good harbour wherefrom the products were shipped. The success of the gun-powder mill varied in the 1600s and 1700s, but what made Alvøen best known was its paper production.

At lake Gaupåsvatnet.

Gaupås

19.05.2018

Marmorøyen

05.12.2018

D/S «Seimstrand» at bay in Salhus around 1906

Salhus

12.06.2018

Salhus has been a connecting point for sea travellers far back in time. The name probably derives from the Old Norse word sáluhús, “house for travellers”. The name may indicate that this was a place for an inn even in the Middle Ages. The place is eminently situated in the route to and from Bergen. For travellers coming by boat from Sogn and Nordhordland, Salhus is the last stop before Bergen. Travellers from the communities in Voss also came this way earlier when they were going to Bergen

Xylograph of the shipyard, Bergen

Verftet

19.02.2019

Today the name “Verftet” is linked to both a district and conglomeration of buildings lying protected by Fredriksberg castle. The original shipyard was founded in the 1780s by Georg Brunchorst and Georg Vedeler. It was called Gerogenes Verft (the shipyards of the Georgs), and here ships were both built and repaired in the years after 1786.

Sculptures in the bedrock

Herand- geologi

11.12.2018

Pages