• Nynorsk
  • English

Universitetet i bergen logoUniversity of Bergen

Search form

Search form

Rosendal Barony, Kvinnherad

Rosendal Barony

19.06.2018 - 16:19

The Barony of Rosendal lies in the grounds of the old noble estate of Hatteberg, on the north side of the Hatteberg river, around one kilometre up from the sea. The three noble estates Seim, Mel and Hatteberg constituted the core of the large estate taken over by Ludvig Rosenkrantz in 1662, after he was married to Karen Mowat in 1658.

Stained glass painting in “Målabuo”.

Gjerde

19.06.2018 - 16:19

Indre Vikane

Indre Vikane

26.05.2018 - 16:24

Vik

Vik

26.05.2018 - 16:29

The farm Vik in Jondal has been one of the earliest settled farms in Jondal; a good and fertile farm east of the river. Legends hold that mighty men have lived in Vik, and it is easy to imagine that the farm may have been a chieftain’s seat for some time.

The clustered community in Hjølmodalen early in 1900.

Hjølmo

26.05.2018 - 11:29

In the steep hillside in Hjølmodalen, a small side valley from Øvre Eidfjord (Upper Eidfjord), which has been a key entrance to the Hardanger Plateau, the hamlet of old farmhouses still lie clustered together. The yard is empty today, some of the houses are used in the summer, but the grass grows round all the corners.

There are two holding in the hamlet at Måbø.

Måbø

26.05.2018 - 11:31

Måbø is the uppermost farm in Måbødalen. This narrow and steep mountain valley has been one of the routes from the fjord communities up to the mountain plateau from times immemorial. We are not certain of the meaning of the name Måbø. Perhaps it has its origin in an Old Norse male name Mávi, from the name for seagull, már. The last syllable “bø” means farm. Today Måbø gives us a compact close-up of the subsistence economy: the small farm with the clearance piles, stone walls and a lane that guided the animals into the yard, at the foot of the great mountain expanse.

The “window house” at Ystås

Ystås

26.05.2018 - 11:47

The oldest farmyard at Fryste or Frøystein.

Frøystein

27.05.2018 - 15:48

The farm Frøystein by the Ulvik fjord is commonly called Fryste. In 1614 the name was written Frøstemb – an obvious Danish influence – and the form Frøsten was used up until the land register in 1886 and 1907. It is probable that the name of the farm originally was Frystvin; a vin-name. Thus it has no connection with neither Frøy (Norse fertility god) nor stein (stone).

The hayshed in Håvik, Bømlo

Outer Håvika

31.03.2018 - 14:35

Boat engines, Norwegian Engine Museum in Skånevik

Skånevik- Norwegian engine museum

25.04.2018 - 21:25

Pages