• Nynorsk
  • English

Universitetet i bergen logoUniversity of Bergen

Search form

Search form

The mill that belonged to Johan Steinegger in Kvalvågen in Lindås, an attempt to exploit the difference in tides

Kvalvågen

16.06.2018 - 18:32

“Prospectus of Frekhaug”. J.F.L.Dreier, 1812

Frekhaug

17.06.2018 - 16:38

Frekhaug has been a large farm with well-off owners through many generations. The main house, a two storey building with a hipped roof, must have been erected about 1780.

«Parti af Stømsnæs ved Bergen».

Strømsnes

12.06.2018 - 17:03

Ask- The king's estate

12.06.2018 - 16:56

Os rectory

Os rectory

29.05.2019 - 15:12

Store Milde, draft of the façade.

Store Milde

30.03.2018 - 08:38

Model of the king’s estate around 1300

Bergenhus

12.05.2020 - 14:50

The schoolhouse at Vassel dating from 1886.

Vassel

19.09.2018 - 10:28

The small, white-painted schoolhouse at Vassel is a modest, but worthy representative for the school in the rural community – an institution for knowledge and a considerable educator of the people. Many of the small rural schools have been rationalised away, but Vassel has been taken good care of, and on 7 December 1976, Lindås School Museum was opened.

Seim

16.06.2018 - 18:51

Sæheim (Seim) at Lygrefjord is mentioned as one of the royal farms of Harald Hårfagre. Several of the first Norwegian national kings had their seat here, and the farm became Crown Property up to the 1400s. According to the sagas, Håkon den gode is buried on the farm.

The commanding officer's home.

Håøy

17.06.2018 - 16:39

Håøy lies centrally in one of the main shipping lanes going into Bergen --- with Håyøsund on the south side facing Meland, and Hagelsundet facing Lindåslandet. Names like Nordfarskista and Nordfarsskorane explain things. The strategic position was important in Viking times and it has been important in our days too. The beacon on Håøy can have been built in the establishment of the coastal administration in Håkon the Good’s time, about 950 AD. The defence structure of which we say remains on Håøy Summit held a critical position during Norwegian neutrality during the First World War. The defence structure was taken down in 1957.

Pages