• Nynorsk
  • English

Universitetet i bergen logoUniversity of Bergen

Search form

Search form

Einstapevoll

Einstapevoll- the farm

19.06.2018 - 17:10

Einstapevoll (from einstape: “bregne” (fern)) lies on the west side of the Tittelsnes peninsula. Up to 1831 the farm was a vicarage belonging to Stord parish. The priests had leasing rights. Land rent and other fees from the farm was part of their salaries.

The captain's farm at Fet in Uskedalen

Fet

24.06.2018 - 15:25

The rectory at Finnes

Finnås rectory

31.03.2018 - 20:19

Elias Fiigenschoug’s painting of Halsnøy monastery , 1656

Halsnøy Monastery

19.06.2018 - 16:12

Halsnøy Monastery is situated in the midst of the lush fjord country in Sunnhordland, on one of the old spits, or “necks”, that has given name to the island. Gently sloping fields lead down to the sea on both sides, in the south towards the Kloster Fjord, to the north towards the sheltered Klostervågen.

Kvinnherad Church

Kvinnherad Church

19.06.2018 - 16:12

The stately Kvinnherad Church with its characteristic profile set out against the mighty Malmangernuten in the background, gives you a rare feeling of being present in a historic landscape as you come around Nes and face the well-kept houses at the Skåla farm. The church at Skåla is one of four “fjordungskirker” (one of four main district churches) and this farm was the centre of this coastal administration district.

Skrivargarden in “”Kåravikjo”.

Kåravika

19.06.2018 - 16:32

The church at Moster, as drawn by Johan Meyer in 1897.

Moster- The old church

18.06.2018 - 20:20

Moster is mentioned as a church site already in the time of Olav Tryggvason. According to the sagas the king is supposed to have laid the foundations for the first church at Moster when he came there in 995. That building would have been a stave church - the church standing there today – a stone church with a nave and narrower, straight chancel – was probably founded around 1100. In 1874 a new church was built at Moster. Then the old church was bought by The Society for the Preservation of Norwegian Ancient Monuments, which is still the owner.

Onarheim

19.06.2018 - 17:45

Coat of arms, Orning

Orninggård

19.06.2018 - 16:35

The hayshed in Håvik, Bømlo

Outer Håvika

31.03.2018 - 14:35

Pages