• Nynorsk
  • English

Universitetet i bergen logoUniversity of Bergen

Search form

Search form

Bryggen

Bryggen

26.09.2018 - 19:14

In the 1300s Bergen was a trading centre of European dimension. The town is thought to have had around 7000 inhabitants and was the largest and most important in the country. In a European context it was an average size town. At this time the most tightly built town area was still mostly east of Vågen from Holmen in the north to Vågsbotn in the south. Already in medieval times, latest in the 1340s, this area was called Bryggen.

Prospectus Damsgård, Bergen

Damsgård

12.06.2018 - 19:20

As a fairytale castle Damsgård Hovedgård lies on the slope rising up from the Puddefjord. The old connection between the farm and the sea, as we see it on Dreier’s prospectus from 1810, has been broken up by roads and encroachments in the building mass. But the main building itself is a central monument in Norwegian architecture from the 1700s – one of the finest representatives for the rococo period, with a magnificent and rich décor both in its interior and exterior.

Hardanger Folk Museum

Hardanger Folk Museum

27.05.2018 - 15:18

Hardanger fartøyvernsenter

Hardanger Maritime Museum

03.07.2019 - 10:51

The Boat Hall at the Horda Museum houses 26 clinker-built, open wooden boats

Horda Museeum

19.06.2018 - 18:39

The Hufthammar farmstead, Austevoll

Hufthammar

24.06.2018 - 15:43

Farming in Austevoll has nearly all been in combination with fishing as the main industry. The farms in the district are therefore small, even in a west Norwegian context.

The Mølster farm in the interim war period.

Mølster

19.06.2018 - 18:00

Nesheimstunet, Voss

Nesheim

30.03.2018 - 20:29

Rosendal Barony, Kvinnherad

Rosendal Barony

19.06.2018 - 16:19

The Barony of Rosendal lies in the grounds of the old noble estate of Hatteberg, on the north side of the Hatteberg river, around one kilometre up from the sea. The three noble estates Seim, Mel and Hatteberg constituted the core of the large estate taken over by Ludvig Rosenkrantz in 1662, after he was married to Karen Mowat in 1658.

Sagvåg in the early 1900s, with the gate saw and the shipyard to the right in the picture.

Sagvåg

19.06.2018 - 16:36

The pit saw on the property of the farm Valvatna, is the origin of the name Sagvåg. The sawmill is mentioned as early as 1564. The name of the place at that time was Fuglesalt, but soon there is only talk of Saugvog.

Pages