• Nynorsk
  • English

Universitetet i bergen logoUniversity of Bergen

Search form

Search form

Ask- The king's estate

12.06.2018 - 16:56

«Parti af Stømsnæs ved Bergen».

Strømsnes

12.06.2018 - 17:03

The rectory at Finnes

Finnås rectory

31.03.2018 - 20:19

The hayshed in Håvik, Bømlo

Outer Håvika

31.03.2018 - 14:35

Skrivargarden in “”Kåravikjo”.

Kåravika

19.06.2018 - 16:32

Coat of arms, Orning

Orninggård

19.06.2018 - 16:35

Ådlandsstova, as it stood at Nedre Ådland, Stord

Ådlandsstova

31.03.2018 - 14:36

The Ådland house is one of the biggest medieval houses still existing in West Norway. It is constructed from unusually large, hard fir wood, beautifully oval-cut. One story links the cottage to the Gildeskålbakken at Orninggård (Lower Ådland); thus indicating that the cottage has been the medieval banqueting hall. The building has been dated back to the 13-1400s by carbon dating.

Herdla, Askøy

Herdla farm

12.06.2018 - 16:59

Numerous finds show that the settlement at Herdla goes back to prehistoric times, and the large estate at Herdla has enjoyed a central place in the nation’s history since High Middle Ages. As Ask, Herdla was part of the country estate Harald Hårfagre took over as he took command of the west of Norway.

The noble estate at Hop; Thomas Erichsens Minde.

Hop- Thomas Erichsens Minde

12.06.2018 - 17:01

From the 1500s Hop was noble estate for the law speaker in Bergen and Gulen judicial districts. Several of the law speakers were of noble descent, such as Hans Hansen Lillienskiold and Niels Knagenhielm. The beautiful main building, still standing, was erected by the Bergen merchant Thomas Erichsen in 1793-95. He also established a magnificent garden with an 800 metres long linden avenue reaching down to the stone boathouse at Hop harbour.

The main building at Huglo, Stord

Sørhuglo

26.06.2018 - 09:59

The tax collector’s farm at Sørhuglo is one of the many farms for state employees in Hordaland. According to history, “Futastovo” was built by the tax collector Gram in the second half of the 17th century. In 1943 the building was moved to Sunnhordland Folk Museum.