• Nynorsk
  • English

Universitetet i bergen logoUniversity of Bergen

Search form

Search form

Klosteret

12.06.2018 - 19:10

Korskirken

Korskirken

12.06.2018 - 19:10

Kvinnherad Church

Kvinnherad Church

19.06.2018 - 16:12

The stately Kvinnherad Church with its characteristic profile set out against the mighty Malmangernuten in the background, gives you a rare feeling of being present in a historic landscape as you come around Nes and face the well-kept houses at the Skåla farm. The church at Skåla is one of four “fjordungskirker” (one of four main district churches) and this farm was the centre of this coastal administration district.

The church at Kyrkjebyrkjeland was pulled down in 1878.

Kyrkjebyrkjeland

12.06.2018 - 17:19

Skrivargarden in “”Kåravikjo”.

Kåravika

19.06.2018 - 16:32

Lyse chapel, Os

Lyse chapel

16.06.2018 - 15:54

The small white-painted chapel with the red brick tiled roof just south of the monastery ruins at Lyse was built in 1663 as a local chapel for the monastery estate, following the takeover of the property by the District Recorder (Stiftskriver) Niels Hanssøn Schmidt two years previously. The chapel, with its harmonic proportions, lies in the cultural landscape beside the grand monastery estate, witness to a time gone by. But even today, there is a tradition of high mass on the 2nd day of Ascension in Lyse Chapel.

Lyse Monastery, reconstruction

Lyse Monastery

16.06.2018 - 15:56

The interior of Mariakirken, Bergen

Mariakirken

12.06.2018 - 19:11

Apart from the king’s estate at Holmen, Håkonshallen and the lower floors of the Rosenkrantz tower, the three parish churches in the centre of Bergen are what have been preserved from medieval Bergen: Mariakirken, Korskirken and Olavskirken (the cathedral). The Romanesque base of the tower from Nonneseter monastery church on the spit between the two Lundegård lakes can still be seen in the landscape, while the other medieval buildings now lie in ruins: the town’s oldest town hall and wine cellar at Nikolaikirkealmenning, Lavranskirken and Maria Gildeskåle between Mariakirken and Bryggens Museum and the Katarina hospital on the north side of Dreggsalmenningen.

Foglefonna and Sandvikedalen with Hardangerjøkulen in the distance.

Mosnes

12.03.2019 - 15:46

The permanently-protected Mosneselva River, with its meltwater from Folgefonna, runs out into Åkra Fjord by the roadless and uninhabited Mosnes. Those who once lived here were forced to surrender to the ravages of Nature. In the autumn of 1962 there was a flood so great that the people were driven from their farms.

The church at Moster, as drawn by Johan Meyer in 1897.

Moster- The old church

18.06.2018 - 20:20

Moster is mentioned as a church site already in the time of Olav Tryggvason. According to the sagas the king is supposed to have laid the foundations for the first church at Moster when he came there in 995. That building would have been a stave church - the church standing there today – a stone church with a nave and narrower, straight chancel – was probably founded around 1100. In 1874 a new church was built at Moster. Then the old church was bought by The Society for the Preservation of Norwegian Ancient Monuments, which is still the owner.

Pages