• Nynorsk
  • English

Universitetet i bergen logoUniversity of Bergen

Search form

Search form

Støle church

Støle church

18.06.2018 - 20:27

The stone church at Støle may have been built around 1160 probably as a private chapel for the mighty Stødle clan. It is likely that it was Erling Skakke, the king’s representative and father of king Magnus Erlingsson, who built the church.

The main building at Huglo, Stord

Sørhuglo

26.06.2018 - 09:59

The tax collector’s farm at Sørhuglo is one of the many farms for state employees in Hordaland. According to history, “Futastovo” was built by the tax collector Gram in the second half of the 17th century. In 1943 the building was moved to Sunnhordland Folk Museum.

Troldhaugen, Bergen

Troldhaugen

29.03.2018 - 22:49

Hauga House at Tveito, Kvinnherad

Tveito

19.06.2018 - 16:17

St. Ludvig.

Tyssøy

16.06.2018 - 17:36

B.E.Bendixen, who has written about “The Churches in Søndre Bergenhus Amt”, believed even around 1900 that there was evidence at Tyssøy of the church or the chapel of the Holy Ludvig (Louis). Two large stone blocks had lain in the western wall of the church’s nave, and this wall showed a length of 16 meters in the terrain.

Deportations from Tælavåg 30 April 1942.

Tælavåg

16.06.2018 - 17:35

Tælavåg has a significant place in the history of the German occupation in WWII. The small community by the sea, where for centuries people had made a living from farming and fishing in harmony with the natural resources, in 1942 became the victim of German reprisals without their equal in Norwegian war history. The collection of war histories in Tælavåg provides us with a close-up of the dramatic events.

Ulevn Camp around 1915.

Ulven camp

16.06.2018 - 16:03

Portrait of Jonas Lie

Undarheim

19.06.2018 - 16:18

Varghola

Vargavågen

13.03.2018 - 21:35

Det Gamle Rådhus (the old town hall), Bergen

Vågsbunnen

12.06.2018 - 19:29

Vågsbotn was the name of the innermost part of the eastern part of town from Auta-almenning (today’s Vetrlidsalmenning), skirting the bottom of Vågen to Allehelgenskirken (All Saints’ Church) (at the present Allehelgensgate). In early medieval times Vågen reached almost all the way to Olavskirken (the Cathedral). It was a relatively wide bay inside the premonitory where Korskirken was built. The area was therefore much shorter than what is known as Vågsbunnen today.

Pages