The hostelry place at Bruknappen (Svein Nord).
The first time we hear of this hostelry place is in 1646. Bergen traders with foreign names like Hunnechen and Cramer have been owners, and between 1745 and 1780 Bruknappen was owned by a group of officers. This is probably associated with the fact that the training ground for this part of Nordhordland was at Lygra. The buildings at Bruknappen burned down around 1870, and a new main building was erected soon afterwards, probably in the same style as the last, with a half-hipped roof and flat dormer, and windows in empire style. Formerly there was a bakery at the back of the main house, and a short distance away there is a potato store and a barn that belongs to the farm. Under the protection plan for old hostelry places, Bruknappen was restored in the early 1970s, but the main building burned down again in 1978, and was again rebuilt. The exterior of the new building is a copy of the old one, well suited as a guesthouse. Today the hostelry place at Bruknappen may be rented for seminars and lodging – a modern-day version of the old hostelry tradition. In the narrow passages in Radsundet, we experience the sea route in its literal meaning. Here lies Bruknappen still as a stopping point in the larger pattern of hostelries along the shipping lane.